Nurse Licensing Info

Types of Credentials Issued by Nebraska

Advanced Practice Registered Nurse (APRN)

  • Clinical Nurse Specialist (APRN-CNS):  An RN who holds a master's or doctoral degree in a nursing clinical specialty area and has successfully completed a graduate-level clinical nurse specialist education program.
  • Certified Registered Nurse Anesthetists (APRN-CRNA): An RN who has advanced education and certification to work in the field of anesthesia.
  • Nurse Practitioner (APRN-NP): An RN who has advanced education and licensure to manage common health problems and chronic conditions including prescribing treatments and medications.
  • Certified Nurse Midwife (APRN-CNM): An RN who has advanced education and certification to attend cases of normal childbirth in hospitals and birthing centers, and provide normal obstetrical and gynecological services to women. A CNM may not attend a home delivery. CNMs may also prescribe treatments and medications.

Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN)

Nine months to one year of education in a community college. Must always practice under the direction of a registered nurse or other licensed practitioner.

Registered Nurse (RN)

Two to four years of education at a college or university. Registered nurses may practice independently.  

For more information, please visit DHHS Nursing Licensing.